ACKNOWLEDGEMENTS

-

To,

Justice Shri V.R. Krishna Iyer, Chairman, Justice Shri M. Jagannadha Rao, Prof. Amrik Singh, Shri Andre Beteille and Prof. Mushirul Hassan – Members of the Advisory Panel on "Enlargement of Fundamental Rights".

To,

Justice Shri R.S. Sarkaria, Chairman, Dr. M.G. Rao and Shri G.V. Ramakrishna – Members of the Advisory Panel on "Union State Relations".

To,

Justice Shri H.R. Khanna, Chairman, Dr. Jayaprakash Narayan and Dr. V.A. Pai Panandikar – Members of the Advisory Panel on "Strengthening of the Institutions of Parliamentary Democracy".

To,

Justice Shri O. Chinnappa Reddy, Chairman and Shri Raju Ramachandran, Shri R. Venkataramani, Shri Vinod Bobde, Shri Gopal Subramaniam and Prof. (Smt.) S.K. Verma – Members of the Advisory Panel on "Effectuation of Directive Principles".

To,

Justice Dr. K. Ramaswamy, Chairman and Shri P.S. Krishnan, Dr. Sukumar Azhikode and Dr. D. Swaminadhan – Members of the Advisory Panel on "Pace of Socio-Economic change and development under the Constitution".

To,

Shri R.K. Trivedi, Chairman and Shri Mohan Dharia, Shri N.N. Vohra, Shri S.K. Mendiratta, Dr. Vir Chopra, Smt. Nalini Singh and Prof. R.B. Jain – Members of the Advisory Panel on "Electoral Reforms and Standards in Political life".

To,

Smt. Mohini Giri, Chairperson and Dr. N.C. Saxena, IAS, Dr. E.A.S. Sarma, IAS and Dr. R.V. Vaidyanatha Ayyar – Members of the Advisory Panel on "Promoting Literacy, generating employment, ensuring social security and poverty alleviation".

To,

Shri L.C. Jain, Chairman and Shri K.C. Sivaramakrishnan, Shri M.C. Gupta and Shri Sanjoy Hazarika – Members of the Advisory Panel on "Decentralisation and devolution; empowerment and strengthening of Panchayati Raj Institutions".

To,

Shri K.B. Lall, Chairman and Justice Shri Shiv Dayal, Shri R. Venkataramani, Dr. Vasudha Dhagamwar and Dr. Syeda S. Hameed – Members of the Advisory Panel on "Effectuation of Fundamental Duties".

To,

Shri M. Narasimham, Chairman and Dr. Y.V. Reddy, Shri Harish Salve, Dr. Smt. Isher Ahluwalia, Dr. Ashok Lahiri, Dr. B.P. Mathur, Shri S.S. Tarapore and Shri B.P.R. Vithal – Members of the Advisory Panel on "legal control of fiscal and monetary policies; public audit mechanism and standards in public life".

To,

Shri T.R. Satishchandran, Chairman and Shri Hamid Ansari, Shri Prakash Singh, Shri M.C. Gupta and Prof. Arun Kumar – Members of the Advisory Panel on Administrative system and standards in public life.

The Commission conveys its profound gratitude.

_

The Commission recalls with the sense gratitude of Dr. Subhash C. Kashyap, Chairman, Shri K. Parasaran and Dr. Abid Hussain, Members of the Drafting and Editorial Committee for the enduring value of the services rendered by them.

The Commission records with affection and appreciation the dedicated services of Dr. Raghbir Singh, (former Secretary to the Government of India) whose services have been invaluable to the Commission. Dr. Raghbir Singh co-ordinated the meetings of the Commission and of the Advisory Panels with commendable efficiency and patience, handling the complex procedures. The Chairman and the Members of the Commission convey their appreciation and gratitude to Dr. Raghbir Singh.

The Commission places on record the services of the team of officers consisting of Shri N.K. Nampoothiry, Additional Legislative Counsel, Dr. D.B. Singh, Deputy Secretary, Shri D. Bhardwaj, Deputy Research Officer, Shri K. Shankar, Deputy Research Officer, Shri S.R. Mishra, Assistant Legal Adviser, Dr. V.K. Singh, Assistant Legal Adviser and the establishment work done by Shri A.K. Pandey, Section Officer. These officers and their colleagues performed the responsibilities with meticulous care and put themselves whole heartedly on jobs assigned to them.

The Chairman expresses his appreciation of the valuable services rendered by his personal staff – Shri Naresh Kumar Sharma, Principal Private Secretary and Shri Mahesh Kumar Sharma, Personal Assistant for their sincere and devoted services.

The Commission places on record services of Late Prof. P.M. Bakshi, Ms. Maja Daruwala, Prof. N.R. Madhava Menon, Prof. Maitra, Prof. V.S. Rekhi and Prof. M.P. Singh, Dr. G. Mohan Gopal, Prof. S.P. Sathe for their research support.

The Commission also places on record its appreciation of the services of Dr. Bibek Debroy of Shri Rajiv Gandhi Foundation, of Shri Shiv Kumar of UNICEF and Shri Abu Saleh Shariff, Chief Economist, NCAER for their research support. The Commission also places on record the sense of gratitude to Shri S.K. Sharma, IAS (former Secretary, Inter-State Council, Government of India) for the research assistance on certain aspects of Union-State relations.

The Commission thanks Shri H.C. Jain, former Librarian, Indian Law Institute for his services in providing access to books and documents from various libraries.

The Commission is grateful to the officers of National Informatics Center, Government of India for their valuable contribution to the web site and facilitating on line submission of responses to the questionnaires issued by the Commission.

The Commission expresses its gratitude to research institutions such as Centre for Policy Research, Institute of Constitutional and Parliamentary Studies, Institute of Social Sciences, All India Institute of Local Self Government, Nagarpalika Network, Citizenship Development Society, Institute for Socio-Economic Change, Indian Institute of Public Administration etc.
